Penalties in KS/MO

Driving Rules

Missouri follows the point system, whereby you accumulate points for various violations that could lead to the suspension or loss of your driver’s license. These points add up quickly if you rack up a bunch of tickets, and they remain on your record for a least three years.

License Suspended:                                     8 points within 18 months (for 30/60/90 days based on first/second/third suspension)

License Revoked 1 Year:                                    12+ points within 12 months; 18+ points within 24 months; 24 points within 36 months

(remains on driving record for 5 years)

 

Kansas does not use a point system, but various violations lead to the same result with a suspended or revoked license.

License Suspended or Restricted:                   3 moving violations within 12 months

 

License Immediately Revoked:

  • Homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle
  • Failure to stop and render aid to any injured parties in the event of a motor vehicle accident (resulting in the death or personal injury of another person)
  • Reckless driving
  • Any felony in which a motor vehicle is used
  • Attempting to elude a police officer
  • Aggravated vehicle homicide
  • Vehicle battery